My embroidery and creative stitching experiences.

Traditional Piecing Methods.

The first method used in this chapter is the ‘Log Cabin ‘ method. Traditionally cloth was sewn around a square, usually but not always, in the centre.

I made a few of the samples shown on page 30 of the course notes. After many attempts at sample 7 (sample 8 in the unit notes) and much cutting and sticking I gave up on making a sample until I did a bit of research on how to do it! Eventually I came up with something. It is one of those things I can do without thinking about it but when I had to do it logically I couldn’t.

I have pinned a few samples of this one onto my Pinterest board ‘Things I’d like to make’ for future reference.

I went on to make the samples up in cloth. I am displaying the matching work together.

1.

IMG_0119 IMG_0129

2.

IMG_0124  IMG_0133

3.

IMG_0114  IMG_0137

4.

IMG_0114  IMG_0139

5.

IMG_0110  IMG_0142

6.

IMG_0107  IMG_0143

7.

IMG_0105  IMG_0146

8.

IMG_0102  IMG_0148

 

I made a mistake on this fabric sample (although it could be an alternative take on the original plan). I’m not telling where it is though, perhaps you can spot it!

I enjoyed this ‘log cabin experience’ which has extended my knowledge of quilting techniques. Up until now I had only ever attempted a very basic block which I am currently turning into a quilt!

 

Comments on: "DS3, Mod. 2, Chapter 7. Piecing Methods." (1)

  1. Wow! these are fabulous! I love the sense of entering through a portal into a liminal space in sample 6 – it reminds me of photographs I’ve seen of the entrance into – I’m not sure – West Kennet Long Barrow springs to mind. Anyway, it’s gorgeous, and so is 7 – very elegant and sophistocated. All wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Judith stitches ...

My progress towards City & Guilds Level 3 Embroidery Certificate, with Distant Stitch

Jamila Ibrohim

A Passion for Weave and Stitch

Teresa's Textiles

My progress through The Taster Module in Embroidery, with Distant Stitch

Hue Bliss: Color & Art notes by Karen Gillis Taylor

Finding art inspirations in the world around us

E.B's Blog...I'm in Stitches!

My embroidery and creative stitching experiences.

