My embroidery and creative stitching experiences.

This blog logs details of times, costs and other information relating to my progress through Module one

and some final comments on my development over the past year.

Distant Stitch 3. Module 1.

Started           28.10.12.

Completed    14.09.13.

Time (hrs) / chapter.

Ch.1  20

Ch2.  19

Ch3.  23

Ch4.  24

Ch5.    6

Ch6.  10

Ch7.  30

Ch8.  22

Ch9.  15.5

Ch10. 15

Ch11. 17

Ch12. 16

Total hrs:  217.5.

Cost of Materials, incurred during the work of this module.

Ch1.    £5.00     Sketch book.

Ch2.    £4.50     Craft foam, card, paper.

Ch3.    £5.00     Paper, pen, glue.

Ch4.    £10.00   Rotring Compasses.

Ch5.    £17.60   Material, Bondaweb.

Ch6.     £1.50    Material.

Ch7.     £8.00    Thread, material.

Ch8.     £3.60    Thread.

Ch9.     £7.60    Thread, material.

Ch10.   £19.00  Soldering iron, extension cable.

Ch11.   £20.00  Thread, material, scissors.

Ch12.   £00.00.

Total Cost: £101.80

Books referred to during the course of this module.

Jan Messent: Design Work Sheets., Design Sources for Pattern., Design Sources for Symbolism.

Deb Menz:  Colorworks.

Juliet Bawden: Art and Craft of Applique.

Jan Beaney and Jean Littlejohn:  Bonding and Beyond.

Margaret Beal:  Fusing Fabric.

Herta Puls: The Art of Cutwork and Applique., Textiles of the Kuna Indians of Panama.

Health and Safety

*Used well lit area for sewing, using sewing machine.

*Worked in a well ventilated area when using soldering Iron.

*Used an extension cable to allow for greater maneuverability of the soldering iron.

*Used appropriate heat-resistant surfaces when working with the soldering iron.

*Switched off, unplugged and stored in heat proof container when not in use.

Final comments and summary of Work on Module 1.

What a wonderful time I have had working my way through all the chapters in this module. They sometimes took more time to complete than I anticipated but often this was because I did more than the basic required or simply life got in the way. Very occasionally they did not take as long to complete as I had expected, I then thought I might have missed something! Normally I had not, but there were times when I missed bits or the blog was not working properly, and Sian was very good at gently directing me back to sort them out!

Sometimes I got very frustrated because I did not completely understand how to create a piece of work, especially in chapter 3!!  I did try like a bear, I knew it had to be easy so I did not want to admit defeat and look like an idiot!   It just took a bit more explaining and a visual aide to sort out my dilemma, another example of Sian’s helpfulness and taught me to ask for help, even if it is for something I perceive as silly!

As I moved on through the chapters I became less worried about doing the “right thing” and began to develop more confidence in exploring my own ideas. I think the way the chapters are written and the feedback from Sian was very helpful and encouraged me to do this. Also looking at other students blogs was a great help. What I saw was diversity and inspiration. I felt it was okay to pursue my own path and not feel that I could be doing the wrong thing!

I have learned more about using colours from this module than I did from a year at art school! Thank you Distant stitch!

I now know so much more about bonding and applique  than I did before. It was always a bit of a mystery to me.  I have learned about different techniques used by different cultures too which was fascinating. Not just about the Kuna Indians but also from looking at Juliet Bawden’s lovely book “The art and craft of Applique”. There are so many books out there and it is good to have some expert guidance on what to buy, I am glad I bought this one.

I have learned how to  make my own prints on fabric and alter materials in a variety of ways . But in learning to do these I have learned so many other things… making a stamp, using suitable inks and paints, how to use the right medium to keep fabric soft and flexible and how to emboss on fabric to name but a few.

I am much more confident using my sewing machine as this was a fairly new purchase at the beginning of this course. This module has given me reasons to use it and I have had to learn about various bits on it! I now really enjoy using it and love to hear it whizzing along and spilling out zigzags or other stitches and I can fill a bobbin and thread the needle in no time!  I have also been able to help others use their’s which was a great confidence boost!

I have also learned for future modules I need to…(Oh, I think the list is endless!)……Keep better records of  timings and costs, make more use of my sketch book and take more notes, and use my blog as I go along instead of doing it all at the end of a chapter and try to be more organised and manage my time better.

I have learned so much more than the few things I have mentioned above. There are too many to mention, but I will just mention one final thing.

I have learned there are lots of lovely, talented people working with Distant Stitch and it is really good being part of that!

Leave a Reply

Judith stitches ...

My progress towards City & Guilds Level 3 Embroidery Certificate, with Distant Stitch

Jamila Ibrohim

A Passion for Weave and Stitch

Teresa's Textiles

My progress through The Taster Module in Embroidery, with Distant Stitch

Hue Bliss: Color & Art notes by Karen Gillis Taylor

Finding art inspirations in the world around us

E.B's Blog...I'm in Stitches!

My embroidery and creative stitching experiences.

