My embroidery and creative stitching experiences.

The Wall

As the title suggests I had to find a wall. I had looked at, photographed and considered walls in different locations leading up to this learning adventure. Paving can be interesting too as well as rocks and stones on the shore.

Eventually I found a part of a wall, (it is easier said then done in my local environment!) that I thought would fit the criteria given. This wall was built as part of a boundary to the land owned by the Earl of Murray  a long time ago. Most of the wall was hidden by overgrown grass and nettles but there was a clear part that looked interesting and useful.

Pros

It had interesting shapes of stones.

There was a variety of colours visible.

It had a variety of textured surfaces and marks.

Cons

Much of it had been badly repaired with cement.

Photographs of the wall .

This photograph shows some of the interesting marks and colours on the stones.

 Some of the stone has been cemented over quite carelessly.

The next job was to do rubbings. More on this in my next post.

Leave a Reply

Judith stitches ...

My progress towards City & Guilds Level 3 Embroidery Certificate, with Distant Stitch

Jamila Ibrohim

A Passion for Weave and Stitch

Teresa's Textiles

My progress through The Taster Module in Embroidery, with Distant Stitch

Hue Bliss: Color & Art notes by Karen Gillis Taylor

Finding art inspirations in the world around us

E.B's Blog...I'm in Stitches!

My embroidery and creative stitching experiences.

